Crude Hints…

22/12/2011

The Portraits in the Making exhibition enabled me to produce a large scale site responsive piece which is an area that I would like to explore further in the future. It has given me the opportunity to experiment with new ideas and develop my portrait as a maker.

Using the staircase at Pitzhanger Manor as it symbolises the spine of the building, I interpreted Sir John Soane’s narrative ‘Crude Hints towards the History of My House’ and explored the connections between his fascination with the poetry of decay and his emotional turmoil in later life. This piece represented the deterioration of the man and of his hopes and dreams.

If you would like to see more of my work please visit my website www.jolovelock.co.uk



Leave a Reply

