Stairways of the Mind

04/06/2011

by Jo Lovelock

When I visited Pitzhanger Manor House I was immediately inspired by the imposing structure of the staircase with its striking black and white design and worn steps showing the patina of age. Symbolically ascending stairs signify moving forward and heading into the unknown, which I think is a good portrait of me currently as a maker. The ground floor represents reality and the upper floor represents imagination and instincts. Staircases are also seen as the spine of the house and I think this is clearly demonstrated at Pitzhanger Manor House as the dramatic staircase snakes around the centre of the building.

Using the staircase as a starting point I will explore and experiment with scale, space and contrast to develop my portrait as a maker.

Leave a Reply

